Garlic Roasted Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries, Walnuts and Chevre

May 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

Garlic Roasted Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries, Walnuts and Chevre
I am really loving this salad for my lunches right now, but the first trial I made last week was just okay. I knew it could be better but I  needed inspiration. When I was finishing one of the last servings, I diced a baby avocado into the bowl and loved the difference it made. The creamy richness satiated me in a way that cheese might.

Garlic Roasted Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries, Walnuts and Chevre
Since avocados are bonkers right now, I bought a couple more to use in the same way but then I had a bit of an accident. I carelessly attempted to stab the pit out while being distracted by the television and literally stabbed myself in the hand. A few stitches later, I had to put off re-visiting the salad. There hasn’t a whole lot of cooking this week – I am on “light duty” at work and it could not be more boring. Today though, my hand is still stitched, but I am doing better! And I still wanted to recreate that salad. With the avocados long gone, I decided to get that creamy, satiating element from a soft cheese. Not as healthy, but still satisfying. I also bumped up the spice and the sweet in this version, and I have found success.

Garlic Roasted Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries, Walnuts and Chevre
Delicate, squeaky young spinach leaves cradle slightly crisped, spicy garbanzo beans, chewy wheat berries and crunchy walnuts. It is a lovely combination.

Garlic Roasted Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries, Walnuts and Chevre
Garlic Roasted Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries, Walnuts and Chevre:
serves 6

– 8 oz dried garbanzo beans, soaked and cooked
– 8 oz wheat berries, soaked for 30 minutes+ before cooking
– 3 cloves garlic, minced
– 2 tsp smoked paprika
– 1 tsp cumin
– 1 tsp turmeric
– 5 oz (1 1/2 cups) walnuts, toasted
– 1 small shallot, thinly sliced
– 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
– 2 tbsp lemon juice (1/2 a lemon or just use 1/4 cup total of apple cider vinegar)
– 1 tbsp honey
– 1/3 cup olive oil
– 8 oz baby spinach (or regular spinach, chopped)
– 6 oz chevre

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Toss cooked garbanzo beans with garlic, paprika, cumin, turmeric, salt & pepper and a couple tablespoons of oil. Empty onto a baking sheet and roast for 15-20 minutes or until crisp on the outside, remove from the oven to cool. Strain soaked wheat berries and cover with a couple inches of salted water in a pot and bring to a boil, down to a simmer until tender but still chewy, 15-30 minutes depending on soaking time. Strain and shock with cold running water. While the beans and wheat berries cook and cool, let the sliced shallot soak in the lemon juice and vinegar. When ready to assemble all components, add honey, salt and pepper and whisk in oil. Combine cooled garbanzo beans, wheat berries and walnuts with spinach and dress with vinaigrette. Serve with crumbled chevre.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Garlic Roasted Garbanzo Bean and Spinach Salad with Wheat Berries, Walnuts and Chevre at Nico's Tiny Kitchen.

meta

