Cremini Mushroom, Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Frittata

January 4, 2012 § 1 Comment

_MG_3738

Resolutions can be tough. By resolving to do just one reasonable thing that will be good for me, resolutions can be easy. My resolution was born out of the need for a local meal, but I will get back to that resolution in a moment.

I decided to make a frittata for this week’s Dark Days post because I wanted to feature a protein other than pinto beans, but my options are limited to the confines of a grocery store until the farmers’ market returns this week. While it is hard to pinpoint just where the meat at my grocery store comes from (“Northwest Pastures” is the extent of the information available on locality), local eggs are available so a skillet full of wholesome, filling eggs made sense. I could have made a quiche or a strata, but I figured I would keep it fairly healthful by staying away from pastry crusts and bread fillings.

_MG_3740

I wanted to fill this frittata with spinach or kale, but all of the greens for sale came from out-of-state. I knew I wouldn’t be able to pinpoint the exact farm my produce was coming from or, therefore, the true mileage, but I wanted to at least stay within state borders. There were a few root vegetables labeled as coming from “Cailifornia & Oregon”, but I wasn’t looking for beets or carrots (for the challenge or the frittata). Mushrooms, it seemed, were the only item in the entire produce section that came from Oregon (and Oregon alone). This is fairly disappointing, but mushrooms are perfect for a meal like this, so I can’t complain too much. Despite not knowing just where these mushrooms came from, I actually did fairly well in this week’s farmers’ marketless dark days post.

_MG_3742

As for resolutions, I have a simple one this year: eat breakfast. I have taken to waking up about 5 minutes before I need to leave for work in the morning. This means I have time to get dressed and brush my teeth (I like to think I am low maintenance?). I shower when I get home from work (when I stink of sweat, onions and general kitchen grease), I put my lunch together before I go to bed and I … well, I don’t eat breakfast in the morning. My body has gotten used to not eating until lunchtime which is weird on my days off. I know eating (a healthy, filling) breakfast will keep me focused until lunch and keep me from snacking throughout the day (ahem, cart of day-old pastries that greets me every morning). This frittata makes my resolution super easy. I cooked it up on Monday (which is the end of my weekend) and had it for lunch. I then wrapped up the remaining wedges and I have had it for breakfast the last few days, straight out of the refrigerator on my way out of the door. This frittata is best served warm on the first day, but it is still delicious on the second, third and even fourth day. My plan is to continue to make frittatas as needed throughout the week so that breakfast won’t require me to wake up any earlier. With the adaptability of this recipe – use any kind of cheese, tender and lightly cooked vegetable or cooked meat – I am fairly certain this is a resolution I can keep.

_MG_3741

1 year ago, today: Spicy Lentil Soup with Bacon (revisited here!)

Cremini Mushroom, Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Frittata:
serve 4-6 as a meal (more with sides)
– 2 tbsp + 1 tbsp butter
– 1 onion, thinly sliced
– 1/2 lb cremini mushrooms
– 8 eggs
– 8 oz chevre goat cheese
– salt and pepper

Melt 2 tbsp of butter in a well-seasoned 10″ cast-iron skillet (an 8″ skillet will work, it will just result in a thicker product) and slowly caramelize onion on a low heat. Remove onion from skillet, raise heat and saute mushrooms until a good amount of moisture has evaporated. Remove mushrooms and grease the skillet very well. Beat eggs well in a medium bowl and season well with salt and pepper. Crumble (or dollop) the goat cheese into the eggs and, once the vegetables have cooled slightly, mix in onions and mushrooms. Turn oven on to broil and return skillet to a low heat and pour in egg mixture. Cook the eggs without stirring until the sides begin to pull away and are cooked through. Place skillet under the broiler until the top is cooked through – approximately 1 minute. Slice into wedges and enjoy.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Cremini Mushroom, Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Frittata

  • Joanne says:

    I always forget how much I love frittatas until I stumble across a post like this! I'm so glad you could find SOMETHING local to throw in there!Eating breakfast is an awesome resolution. After a few weeks of doing it, I guarantee you won't know how you lived without it!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cremini Mushroom, Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Frittata at Nico's Tiny Kitchen.

meta

