Hot and Creamy Tomato Soup

March 25, 2011 § 2 Comments

_MG_2381



I had a craving for tomato soup when I was sick with a cold a few weeks ago and decided to pick up a can of Amy’s tomato soup. Although it is organic and low in ingredients, it was disappointing and reminded me of … well, canned soup. Despite feeling sick and lazy, I decided I better make my own if I wanted to satisfiny my need for a comforting creamy tomato soup with a spicy kick to clear my sinuses. It ended up hitting the spot and I saved my recipe to my drafts so that I could perfect the soup when I had the craving again. I just tried it again this weekend, working with the liquid proportions and, though I am not sick anymore, I now have a great sinus busting and comforting tomato soup. Lovely flavor and a nice heat with the perfect consistency! I garnished mine with a dollop of cooling yogurt and a bit of cilantro to go with the spicy chilies.

_MG_2376
what you need!

Hot and Creamy Tomato Soup:
– 1 onion, 1/4 inch dice
– 2 chilies, fine dice (I have done this with habaneros and Thai chilies on separate occasions)
– 2 28 oz cans crushed tomatoes
– 4 cups stock
– 2 cups whole milk or cream
– 1/2 lb parmesan cheese, grated
– crushed red pepper flakes to taste
– salt & pepper

Heat oil in dutch oven and slowly cook onions until soft and translucent. Add chilies and cook until aromatic, about 30 seconds. Slowly add tomatoes, stock and milk and bring to a boil, down to a simmer for about an hour or until it has reduced to a soupy thickness, stirring occasionally. Add handfuls of parmesan cheese, stirring the first handful in until fully incorporated before adding the next. Season with crushed red pepper, salt & pepper to taste

_MG_2379
Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Hot and Creamy Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hot and Creamy Tomato Soup at Nico's Tiny Kitchen.

meta

